• 0


…ABLA presentation ceremony holds on 5th July 2024 at the House of Lords, UK

PORTSMOUTH, United Kingdom

27 April 2024

Continuing in its tradition of celebrating African excellence, the African Leadership Magazine (ALM) invites nominations for the African Business Leadership Awards (ABLA) 2024, an annual flagship event recognizing exemplary corporate practices and remarkable achievements across Africa’s business spectrum. The nomination period opens on 28 April 2024 and closes on 4 May 2024.

The call for nominations is the first stage in a 3-step points-based selection process, which includes: firstly, a call for nominations; secondly, voting for the shortlisted nominees; and thirdly, the editorial board’s final review of the nominations and voting entries, using supporting evidence and voting considerations in their final decisions for the winners of the African Business Leadership Awards (ABLA).

The African Business Leadership Awards (ABLA) is in keeping with our tradition of presenting the sides of the continent’s businesses and leaders, which hardly finds placement on global media platforms – celebrating exemplary business leadership on the continent The awards feature 16 distinctive categories designed to honour policymakers, business leaders, and organizations who have contributed significantly to shaping Africa’s economic growth trajectory over the past year.

The winners of the African Business Leadership Awards (ABLA) 2024 will be presented with an award trophy and formally decorated with the instruments of honour at the 14th African Business Leadership Awards (ABLA), which will be held as a key highlight of the 8th ALM Africa Summit, billed or 5 July 2024 at the House of Lords in London – UK. Participation in the presentation ceremony is open to all winners and is strictly by invitation.

African Business Leadership Awards 2024 Selection Process Timeline:

• Call for Nominations:** 28 April 2024 – 4 May 2024

• Voting for Shortlisted Nominees:** 6 May 2024 – 19 May 2024

• Editorial Board Review & Announcement of Final Winners:** 20 June 2024

The 16 categories for nominations are as follows:

1. AFRICAN BUSINESS LEADER OF THE YEAR. This award recognizes the exceptional business leader whose vision, innovations, and management abilities have helped steer his company successfully in both his home country and in the global marketplace, driving growth, and providing leadership in Africa’s COVID-19 response to date.

2. AFRICAN FEMALE BUSINESS LEADER OF THE YEAR. This award recognizes exceptional leadership and managerial skill in a female business leader, who despite stiff competition in a male-dominated world, has shown resilience, courage, and sagacity in building a worthy brand.

3. AFRICAN REGULATOR OF THE YEAR. This Award recognizes a government regulatory agency for its effective regulatory framework or policy initiatives and programs, implemented across national or regional levels. That encourages action beyond compliance with applicable laws, enhances stakeholder engagement, and contributes to the growth of the National or Regional/state brand through the practical impact on the people.

4. BUSINESS FRIENDLY GOVERNOR OF THE YEAR AWARD. This award recognizes a state or Regional governor who has been able to drive investment into his/her state/region, remarkably increasing the commercial activities of his state /region since the assumption of office.

5. AFRICAN FINANCE MINISTER OF THE YEAR. This award recognizes an outstanding finance minister who through strong fiscal policies, has enhanced the national economic outlook and supported the growth of businesses despite looming challenges.

6. TRADE & INVESTMENT PROMOTION AGENCY OF THE YEAR. This award recognizes and celebrates the outstanding achievements of trade & investment promotion agencies, as well as special economic zones in realizing and advancing development strategies, promoting and facilitating foreign direct investment for the sustainable development of their respective countries.

7. CENTRAL BANK GOVERNOR OF THE YEAR AWARD. The Central Bank Governor of the Year award recognizes those who have led their countries’ economies through what has been another tumultuous year and have been able to stimulate growth and stabilize their macroeconomic environment, thereby boosting investor confidence.

8. TRADE & INVESTMENT MINISTER OF THE YEAR. This Award recognizes an African Trade & Investment Minister, whose innovation; hard work, and success can be seen in an increased flow of FDIs, and enhanced export capabilities for their local products in reaching new markets through the increase of the volume and impact of exporting their local products or services.

9. AFRICAN CEO OF THE YEAR. This Award recognizes top CEOs who by dint of hard work, business savvy, and outstanding managerial skills are building strong pan-African brands, creating jobs and shared prosperity for their stakeholders and our communities.

10. YOUNG BUSINESS LEADER OF THE YEAR AWARD. This award recognizes a young African business leader, 40 years of age or below, whose outstanding business successes and verifiable business journey have made them role models and inspirational success stories in the marketplace.

11. AFRICA CSR & COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT IMPACT AWARD. This award recognises businesses whose profits have been effectively channelled to impact their communities through their corporate social responsibility contributions to the arts, education, environment, and community development, making a societal impact a corporate priority.

12. AFRICAN BRAND OF THE YEAR. This award recognizes the exceptional African Brand that has proven sustainability of brand essence and identity, with verifiable distinctiveness, originality, and a deep loyalty base.

13. AFRICAN COMPANY OF THE YEAR. (Bank, Telecoms, Airline, Manufacturing, etc.): This Award recognizes companies who have made a mark in their industry sectors through uncommon customer service, innovative product offerings, community impact or technological offerings, and concrete societal impact.

14. INDUSTRY PERSONALITY OF THE YEAR (ICT, Banking, Telecoms, Aviation, Retail, Business, etc.). This award recognizes the individual whose vision and innovations have become drivers of growth in particular industry sectors and permanently impacted the way of doing business in that particular sector.

15. AFRICA BUSINESS INTEGRITY LEADER AWARD. Open to organizations who have consistently done business with integrity in line with globally acclaimed best practices, with strict adherence to extant laws, governmental policies, and regulatory frameworks.

16. LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD. This award recognizes and honours the business leader who has, during his or her decades-long career, made significant contributions to shaping, growing, and developing the economic landscape.

To submit a nomination, candidates can send their entries via email to, direct messages (DM) on social media platforms using the hashtag #ALMABLA2024, or by mail to the ALM corporate address. Nominations must include the nominee’s full name, the chosen category, and accompanying supporting evidence. Africans, global supporters of Africa, individuals self-nominating, and organizations are all encouraged to participate in the nomination process.


The African Business Leadership Awards (ABLA) Selection Committee

African Leadership Organisation

Portsmouth Technopole

Kingston Crescent

Portsmouth PO2 8FA

United Kingdom































Upscaling Legal and Human Rights Development in Africa
Prev Post Upscaling Legal and Human Rights Development in Africa
The Remarkable Journey of Judith Suminwa Tuluka, DRC’s First Female President
Next Post The Remarkable Journey of Judith Suminwa Tuluka, DRC’s First Female President