African Leadership Magazine UK Unveils An Exclusive List of Nigeria’s Agents Of Democracy And Development

  • 0

African Leadership Magazine UK has unveiled an exclusive list of Nigeria’s Democracy and Development Champions. The publisher, Dr. Ken Giami, who led other editorial board members in unveiling the list on the 21st January 2019, at the group’s Africa Head Office in Abuja, Nigeria, stated that, “while the global community celebrates Nigeria’s democratic journey, as well as her economic growth in the last two decades, very little have been said about the actors who are helping to shape the country’s story.” He maintained that the Nigerian Democracy & Development Champions list aims to celebrate Nigeria’s unsung champions of democracy and development.   The list includes:

Political Leader of the Year:
Bukola Saraki

Governors of the Year:
1.Ifeanyi Arthur Okowa – Delta
2.Aminu Bello Masari – Katsina

Ministers of the Year:
1.Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu – Minister of State, Petroleum Resources
2.Suleiman Hussein Adamu – Minister of Water Resources

Outstanding Parastatals of the Year 2018:

  1. Nigerian Customs Service
  2. Office of the Special Adviser to the President on Niger Delta
  3. PTDF
  4. NSITF
  5. JAMB

Business Leaders of the Year:

  1. Mike Adenuga, Chairman Globacom
  2. Abdulmunaf Sarina, Chairman AZMAN Air

CEO of the Year:
Adesola K. Adeduntan
CEO, First Bank Plc

Company of the Year:

Brand of the Year:

Airline of the Year:
Air Peace

TV Station of the Year:
Africa Independent Television, AIT

Nigeria Unsung Hero of the Year:
Ahmed Isah – Brekete Family Show

The list also includes a short list of top five leading actors across key sectors leading the charge towards promoting democracy and development. They include:

Nigerian Democracy and Development Icons:
1. H.E. Olusegun Obasanjo, former president of Nigeria
2. H.E. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, former president of Nigeria
3. H.E. Emeka Anyoku, Former Secretary-General of the Commonwealth,
4. Prof. Wole Soyinka, Nobel Laureate
5. Gen. Abdulsalami Abubakar, Rtd, former head of state

Nigeria Community Development Champions 2018:
1. Dangote
2. Chevron
3. GlaxoSmithKline
4. Century Group
5. MTN Nigeria

Outstanding Media Agents for Change 2018:
1. Chidi Okereke
2. Obi Asika
3. Chamberlain Usoh
4. Mo Abudu
5. Adaora Onyechere

Social Justice Champions 2018:
1. Obiageli Ezekwesili
2. Audu Maikori
3. Femi Falana
4. Louisa Eikhomun
5. Matthew Hassan Kukah

Nigeria has witnessed an exponential economic growth in the last two decades, which has seen her move to become the largest economy in the continent and the 27th largest in the world. It is no coincidence that these phenomenal achievements took place with the country’s return to democracy, highlighting the nexus between democracy and development. In 2019, Nigeria will mark the 20th anniversary of her return to democracy. This no doubt shows that democracy is a catalyst for economic growth and development.

As Nigeria prepares for yet another decisive rounds of elections in February and March 2019 – we call on all stakeholders to protect and defend her democracy as it is the purveyor of the kind of growth and development that can be felt by the everyday Nigerian.

Kenyan Athlete Smashes Dubai Record
Prev Post Kenyan Athlete Smashes Dubai Record
Andela Secures $100M Series D to Build Distributed Engineering Teams and Power the Future of Work
Next Post Andela Secures $100M Series D to Build Distributed Engineering Teams and Power the Future of Work