Hon. Kailesh Jagutpal, Minister of Health and Wellness, Mauritius, Recognized as African Public Health Leader of the Year

  • 0

Addis Ababa – March 18, 2024

Dr. The Hon. Kailesh Kumar Singh Jagutpal, esteemed Minister of Health and Wellness of Mauritius, has been honored with the distinguished title of African Public Health Leader of the Year at the African Leadership Persons of the Year Award Ceremony. This award was to celebrate his exemplary contributions to public health across the continent. The event, themed “Building Resilient African Economies,” took place on March 14th and 15th, celebrating exemplary individuals driving positive change across the continent.


With a profound dedication to healthcare and a wealth of experience spanning over two decades, Dr. Jagutpal has demonstrated exemplary leadership and unwavering commitment to advancing public health initiatives in Mauritius. His tireless efforts have significantly contributed to improving the quality of healthcare services and enhancing the well-being of the Mauritian population.


Dr. Jagutpal’s leadership extends beyond clinical practice, as evidenced by his significant contributions to professional organizations and regulatory bodies. He served as the Vice-President of the Mauritius Psychiatric Association from 2015 to 2016 and held the esteemed position of Chairperson of the Medical Council of Mauritius from February 2016 to May 2019, demonstrating his commitment to upholding professional standards and ethical practices within the healthcare sector.


In his current capacity as Minister of Health and Wellness, Dr. Jagutpal oversees a comprehensive portfolio encompassing medical and public health services, population wellness initiatives, licensing of private health institutions, and the management of critical healthcare programs such as the National AIDS Secretariat and the Trust Fund for Specialized Medical Care. His visionary leadership and strategic vision have been instrumental in shaping Mauritius’s healthcare landscape and addressing the evolving healthcare needs of its citizens.


The award ceremony, expected to draw over 300 attendees, will feature engaging roundtable panel discussions, keynote addresses, and talks about partnerships and investments, providing a platform for thought-provoking dialogue and collaboration. Additionally, winners of the ALM Persons of the Year awards will be celebrated, accompanied by the unveiling of the special POTY edition of African Leadership Magazine.

Among the exclusive dignitaries confirmed to attend are His Excellency William Ruto, President of the Republic of Kenya; His Excellency George Weah, former President of Liberia; Hon. Cllr. Fonati Koffa, Speaker of the Liberia House of Representatives; His Excellency Rodrigo Guzmán Barro, Ambassador, Embassy of Chile in Addis Ababa; Hon. Dr. Kailesh Jagutpal, Minister of Health and Wellness, Mauritius; and other notable figures from across Africa.

About ALM Persons of the Year (POTY)


The ALM Persons of the Year (POTY) Ceremony, a flagship annual event of the African Leadership Magazine, brings together policymakers, private sector leaders, civil society leaders, and thought leaders to discuss Africa’s socio-economic growth and development. It serves as a prestigious platform for honoring people-centred leadership and individuals championing a pan-African agenda.


About African Leadership Magazine

Published by the African Leadership Organization (UK), African Leadership Magazine showcases the best of Africa to a global audience, offering solutions to current challenges and promoting impactful leadership. For over 16 years, the organization has been dedicated to advancing African opportunities globally through quality Afro-positive content, trade facilitation, business networking platforms, and public sector training and consulting.


Prev Post Dr. Zafivanona Lainkana Honored with the African Leadership Commendation Award
Dr. Jesca Mhoja Nkwabi Honoured as Young African Leader of the Year (Runner-up) at ALM POTY 2024
Next Post Dr. Jesca Mhoja Nkwabi Honoured as Young African Leader of the Year (Runner-up) at ALM POTY 2024