Following the recently held presidential election in Malawi, Lazarus Chakwera was sworn in as the new president of the country, for a five-year term after winning the re-run, unseating former leader Peter Mutharika.

The swearing-in took place at the Bingu International Convention Center, Lilongwe, as Hundreds of people gathered to witness Chakwera take the oath. The new president pledged to develop the country beyond the expectations of Malawians.

Speaking during his inaugural address, the president emphasized the need for Malawians to begin living their dream.

“The time has come for us to go beyond dreaming.”

“We all must wake up because this is the time to rise from slumber and to make our dream come true. Doctor Chilima and I accept this challenge and task.”

Many Malawians have said that there is nothing more they are expecting from the new president other than meeting his campaign promises.

In less than 24-hours after taking his oath of office, President Lazarus Chakwera made changes in the parliament and rolled out the first batch of ministerial appointments.

Following the appointments, vice president Saulos Chilima has been handed the Economic Planning and Development and Public Sector Reforms portfolio. The president also named chief secretaries to the government and his chief of staff.

Meanwhile, over in Parliament, seating arrangements were changed as lawmakers from the president’s Malawi Congress Party and Chilima’s UTM moved to the majority benches while Peter Mutharika’s DPP and UDF members moved to the opposition side.

New leadership was also announced in line with the changes. The speaker of the house remains Catherine Gotani Hara, an MCP member; who became Malawi’s first female speaker of parliament back in June 2019.

#NationOnline: Parliament resumes this afternoon. Meanwhile, MCP/UTM MPs have moved to the Government side while DPP/UDF MPs have moved to the opposition side. #MwParliament

List of cabinet appointees

Minister of Economic Planning and Development and Public Sector Reforms – Dr Saulos Chilima
Minister of Finance – Felix Mlusu
Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs – Modecai Msisha
Attorney General – Chikosa Silungwe
Minister of Homeland Security – Richard Chimwendo Banda
Chief Secretary to Government – Zangazanga Chikhosi
Deputy Chief Secretary to Government – Janet Banda.
Chief of Staff and State Residences – Prince Kapondamgaga