ALM’s POTY 2024: Honouring Africa’s Finest!

  • 0

The anticipation has been palpable and here we are finally at The 12th African Leadership Magazine Persons of the Year (POTY) Awards Ceremony, in the prestigious Ethiopian Skylight Hotel in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. This annual event stands as a beacon of recognition for outstanding Africans whose contributions have been pivotal in shaping the continent’s trajectory towards progress and dispelling the shadows of negativity that have sometimes clouded Africa’s image on the global stage.

Over the past 12 years, the POTY Ceremony has evolved into Africa’s premier vote-based endorsement, attracting policymakers, industry titans, civil society leaders, and thought leaders from across the continent and beyond. It has become a revered platform for honouring people-centred leadership and celebrating individuals who champion a pan-African agenda in their respective fields.

Reflecting on the illustrious list of past winners is akin to a journey through the annals of African leadership. From the visionary Sudanese businessman Mo Ibrahim, Founder of the Ibrahim Prize for Leadership (2012); to the transformative leadership of H.E. Goodluck Jonathan, former President of Nigeria (2015);  and the indefatigable efforts of Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, Director-General, World Health Organisation (2020).

Other past winners of the ALM Persons of the Year Awards include H.E. Atiku Abubakar, former Vice President of Nigeria (2013); H.E. Jakaya Kikwete, former President of Tanzania (2014); Mr. Mo Dewji, Tanzanian Businessman and Philanthropist (2016); H.E. Paul Kagame, President of Rwanda (2017); H.E. John Magufuli, former President of Tanzania (2018); Dr Akinwumi Adesina, President of African Development Bank (2019); H.E. Lazarus Chakwera, President of Malawi (2021); and H.E. Julius Maada Bio, President of Sierra Leone (2022). Each recipient has left an indelible mark on Africa’s landscape, inspiring hope and igniting progress.

In the spotlight, this year stands His Excellency William Ruto, President of Kenya, who has been named the African of the Year 2023. President Ruto’s unwavering commitment to regional cooperation, inclusive trade, and advocating for Africa’s interests on the global stage embodies the essence of pan-African leadership.

Beside President Ruto is the esteemed former President of Tanzania, H.E. Jakaya Kikwete, who continues to be a steadfast advocate for peace, security, and sustainable development in Africa. His insights on the nexus between peace and development are bound to enrich the dialogue and inspire action towards a more prosperous Africa.

The 2024 edition of the POTY Ceremony is a convergence of minds, which brought together over 300 participants representing diverse sectors and geographies. From political and diplomatic leaders to industry titans and academic luminaries, the event promises to foster meaningful exchanges and forge new alliances in the pursuit of Africa’s socio-economic advancement.

Joining the distinguished roster of attendees is a lineup of exceptional leaders, including Dr. Kailesh Jagutpal, Mauritius’ Minister of Health and Wellness, and Lady Justice Martha Koome, Chief Justice of Kenya. His Excellency George Weah, Former President, Liberia; Hon. Cllr. Fonati Koffa, Speaker, Liberia House of Representative; The Hon. Dr Kailesh Jagutpal, Minister Of Health And Wellness, Mauritius; Ngozi Ekeoma, CEO, NAPAL Petroleum; Dr Adesola Kazeem Adeduntan (FCA), CEO, FirstBank Group; Daniel Asiedu, Managing Director, OmniBSIC Bank, Accra, Ghana; Mr. Henry Fallah Saamoi, The Chief Executive Officer, International Bank (Liberia) Limited Monrovia, Liberia; Mr Gil Bires, Director-General, Investment and Export Promotion Agency (APIEX-Mozambique);Adanech Abebe, Mayor of Addis Ababa.and several other notable leaders.


Their presence underscores the event’s commitment to recognising excellence across various spheres of African society.

As we embark on this journey of celebration and reflection, we invite you to join us in honouring Africa’s finest and reaffirming our collective commitment to a brighter future for the continent.

DR. JAKAYA MRISHO KIKWETE: A Statesman’s Legacy of Leadership and Service
Prev Post DR. JAKAYA MRISHO KIKWETE: A Statesman’s Legacy of Leadership and Service
Exploring Pathways to a more Resilient Africa: Insights from the ALM Persons of the Year Awards – Addis Ababa 2024
Next Post Exploring Pathways to a more Resilient Africa: Insights from the ALM Persons of the Year Awards – Addis Ababa 2024