Image: africanews

Angola’s general election polls commenced 7am on Wednesday and people are actively coming out to cast their votes.

This year’s presidential election is historic as the President of Angola Eduardo dos Santos willingly gave up the presidential seat.

Ahead of the election, Africa Union (AU) expresses satisfaction concerning election preparations which gives high hopes for a peaceful election process.

Six candidates from six different parties are contesting to assume presidential office. The political parties are

Ruling party- People’s Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA) led by Joao Lourenco

Main opposition party, National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (UNITA) led by Isaias Samakuva

Third force- The Broad Convergence for the Salvation of Angola – Electoral Coalition (CASA-CE – a break away from UNITA) led by Abel Chivukuvuku

National Liberation Front of Angola (FNLA) led by Lucas Benghim Gonda

Social Renewal Party (PRS) led by Benedito Daniel

National Patriotic Alliance coalition (APN) led by Quintino Moreira