Angola is a southern African nation whose diverse landscape include tropical Atlantic beaches, a labyrinthine system of rivers and Sub-Saharan desert desert or savanna, with hardwood forests that extends across the border into Namibia. The country is popularly known for its small oil-rich northern province of Cabinda which is separated from the rest of the country by a small part of the Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Congo River.

The country’s culture is a good reflection of its Portuguese-influenced colonial history which shapes the country’s cuisine and its landmarks including Fortaleza de São Miguel, which was erected by the Portuguese in 1576 to defend the country’s capital of Luanda.

Did you know that;

  • Angola underwent a transition from a one-party socialist state to a nominally multiparty democracy in 1992.
  • Angola is the second-largest oil producer in sub-Saharan Africa
  • The original inhabitants of Angola are thought to have been Khoisan speakers.
  • The country  derives its name from the Bantu kingdom of Ndongo, whose name for its king is ngola.
  • It got it’s independence in 1975 after 14 years of a guerrilla war.
  • Angola was a link in trade with India and Southeast Asia
  • The marxist party of Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA), a Marxist party which led the independence movement still controls the Angolan government.
  • About 65% of Angola’s oil comes from the Cabinda region.
  • Angola’s first national elections in 16 years were held in September 2008 and the Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA) won about 82% of the vote.
  • In 2012, Prime Minister position was abolished in the country due to the ratification of the 2008 Constitution of Angola, which  transfers the functions of the Prime Minister to the President.
  • The country’s main languages are Portuguese and Bantu.
  • The popular religion is traditional beliefs, Roman Catholic and Protestant
  • Angola’s local currency is Kwanza
  • Its capital city is Luanda.