Botswana’s Jeanette Makgolo Receives African Leadership Commendation Award

  • 0



At the 12th African Persons of the Year Ceremony held on March 15, 2024, at the Ethiopian Skylight Hotel in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, Jeanette Makgolo, the Commissioner General of the Botswana Unified Revenue Service, was honoured with the African Leadership Commendation Award.


Makgolo has been instrumental in shaping Botswana’s financial sector, notably contributing to the formulation of the Public Procurement Bill and financial reporting legislation. With her involvement in various boards, including the African Tax Administration Forum, she is known for her transformative leadership style. Under her stewardship, the Botswana Unified Revenue Service has experienced remarkable growth, implementing innovative strategies to improve revenue collection and service delivery.


Jeanette received the award from the Honourable Justice Martha Koome, who serves as Chief Justice and President of the Supreme Court of Kenya. This prestigious accolade acknowledges Makgolo’s outstanding leadership accomplishments in various areas, including trade facilitation and integration, equitable revenue collection, adherence to global standards, capacity building, and her significant contributions to Africa’s economic advancement. Makgolo’s efforts in diversification, industrialization, and enhancing competitiveness, as well as her promotion of intra-African trade through export initiatives and investments, have been particularly noteworthy.


The ALM Persons of the Year (POTY) is a flagship annual event of the African Leadership Magazine, which has been held consecutively over the past 12 years, convening policymakers, private sector leaders, civil society leaders, thought leaders, and all stakeholders from across Africa and the rest of the world to discuss issues bothering them.

Africa’s socio-economic growth and development. The event has also become a prestigious platform for honouring outstanding African leaders who are pursuing a pan-African agenda and contributing to Africa’s development in their fields of endeavour.


Other distinguished individuals recognised at the event included former President Jakaya Kikwete of Tanzania; Hon. Justice Martha Koome, serving as Chief Justice and President of the Supreme Court of Kenya; Dr. The Hon. Kailesh Jagutpal, who holds the position of Minister of Health and Wellness in Mauritius; and Debele Hursa, Hon. Commissioner of the Ethiopian Customs Commission.


Also honoured were Dr. Adesola Adeduntan, Group CEO of First Bank Nigeria Limited; Prof. George Openjuru, Vice Chancellor of Gulu University, Uganda; Kennedy G. Bungane, CEO of African Bank, South Africa; Dr Zafivanona Lainkana, Director General of the Malagasy Customs Commission; Dr. Jesca Nkwabi, CEO of KOM Group in Tanzania; Henry Saamoi Bio, CEO of International (Liberia) Bank Limited; Daniel Asiedu, Managing Director/CEO of OmniBSIC Bank in Ghana; Daere Akobo, Chairman/GCEO of PANA Holdings Group in Nigeria; Mike Kamungeremu, President of the Zimbabwe National Chamber of Commerce (ZNCC); Ing. Dr. Clifford Braimah, CEO of Ghana Water Corporation Limited; and Akol E. Ayii, CEO of Trinity Energy Group in South Sudan.


About African Leadership Magazine.

The African Leadership Magazine is the flagship publication of the African Leadership Organisation (UK) Limited. For the past 16 years, the organisation has been dedicated to promoting impactful leadership in Africa and showcasing African opportunities globally. Through its various initiatives, including quality Afro-positive content, trade facilitation, market entry solutions, business networking platforms, and public sector training and consulting, the African Leadership Magazine plays a vital role in driving positive change and development across the continent.


For media inquiries, please contact:

Ehis Ayere


Phone: +44 (0) 23 9265 8276


African Education System Strengthening Strategies
Prev Post African Education System Strengthening Strategies
Chief Justice Koome of Kenya Honoured at African Persons of the Year Awards Ceremony, Addis Ababa – Ethiopia 2024
Next Post Chief Justice Koome of Kenya Honoured at African Persons of the Year Awards Ceremony, Addis Ababa – Ethiopia 2024