Kenya: President Kenyatta Reshuffles Cabinet

  • 0


President Uhuru Kenyatta on Tuesday reshuffled his cabinet announcing that the changes were necessary for effective service delivery.

He expanded the number of Cabinet Secretaries from 19 to 20. The new cabinet only has five women, falling short of the constitutional requirement that states that women must make up 33 per cent of all elective and nominative positions.

He modelled the changes to fulfill four key objectives: Enhance efficiency of public officers through fast-tracking adoption of technology; Ensure accountability of public officials in discharge of duties, giving more power to accounting officers to have oversight of public expenditure; guarantee accessibility of public officers by reducing size of dockets and review effectiveness of government projects, such that only those projects with direct social economic impacts to the citizens make it through.

In the same vein, the president announced the expansion of state departments from 26 to 41.

“Anti-corruption measures will be implemented through state departments which are headed by Principal Secretaries. A key initiative will be the complete overhaul of procurement departments,” said President Kenyatta.

He also announced that the office of the President will be re-organised and the changes announced in the next two weeks.

The president asked the National Assembly to fast-track the vetting of CSs and PSs to ensure that those nominated to the positions are able to take up the positions as soon as possible.

A good number of the new names in the Principal Secretary dockets are former bosses in the private sector, signaling a major shift from hiring politicians to having corporate bosses on board.

Some of the former CEOs that have been awarded state department dockets include Zeinab Hussein who was the former head of Human Resources at McKinsey, and Chris Kiptoo, former CEO at Trade Mark East Africa.

Other notable figures include Sammy Itemere, former Kenya Commercial Bank Sudan CEO and Paul Maringa Mwangi, who was Rwandan President Paul Kagame’s advisor on large Infrastructure.


Mining – Dan Kazungu

Environment – Prof Judy W Wakhungu

Devolution & Planning – Mwangi Kiunjuri

Water & Irrigation – Eugene Wamalwa

Finance – National Treasury – Henry K Rotich

Sports Arts & Culture – Dr Hassan Wario Arero

Education – Dr Fred Okengo Matiangi

Transport & Infrastructure – James Macharia

Agriculture – Willy Bett

Interior – Gen (Rtd) Joseph K Nkaissery

Foreign Affairs – Amb Amina Mohamed

Public Service Youth & Gender Affairs – Sicily Kanini Kariuki

Tourism – Najib Balala

Energy & Petroleum – Charles Keter

Health – Dr Cleopa Kilonzo Mailu

Labour & EAC Affairs – Phylis J K Kandie

Defence – Amb Dr Raychelle Awuor Omamo

Lands – Prof Jacob T Kaimenyi

Industrialization – Adan Mohamed

ICT – Joe Mucheru

Attorney General – Prof Dr Githu Muigai


Agriculture- Richard Lesiyampe

Arts, Culture – Joe Okudo

Basic Education – Dr Belio Kipsang

Broadcasting & Telecommunications – Sammy Itemere

Cooperatives – Ali Noor Ismail

Correctional Services – Micah Powon

Defence – Amb Peter K Kaberia

Devolution – Mwanamaka Mabruki

EAC Integration – Betty Chemutai Maina

Energy – Eng Joseph Njoroge

Environment – Charles Sunkuli

Fisheries – Prof Ntiba Micheni

Interior – Eng Karanja Kibicho

Youth and Public Service – Lilian Omollo

Health – Nicholas Muraguri

Housing & Urban Development – Aidah Munano

ICT & Innovation – Victor Kyalo

Industry & Enterprise Development – Julius Korir

Infrastructure – John Musonik

Foreign – Dr Amb Monica Juma

International Trade – Dr Chris Kiptoo

Irrigation – Patrick Nduati Mwangi

Labour – Khadija Kassachoom

Lands – Mariam El Maawy

Livestock – Dr Andrew K Tuimur

Maritime Commerce – Nancy Karigithu

Mining – Dr Mohammed Ibrahim Mahmud

National Treasury – Kamau Thugge

National Water Services – Fred Sigor

Natural Resources – Dr Margaret Mwakima

Petroleum – Andrew Kamau Nganga

Planning & Statistics – Saitoti Torome

Public Works – Dr Paul Maringa Mwangi

Social Security & Services – Susan Mochache

Special Programmes – Josepheta Mukobe

Sports Development – Richard Ekai

Tourism – Fatuma Hersi

Transport – Wilson Nyakera Irungu

University (Higher) Education – Prof Colleta Suda

Vocational & Technical Training – Dr Dinah Jerotich Mwinzi

Gender Affairs – Zeinab W Hussein

Small Businesses Key To Africa’s Growth Story – Ivan Epstein
Prev Post Small Businesses Key To Africa’s Growth Story – Ivan Epstein
10 Things You Didn’t Know About Nigeria’s New Finance Minister Kemi Adeosun
Next Post 10 Things You Didn’t Know About Nigeria’s New Finance Minister Kemi Adeosun

Leave a Comment: