Nigeria’s acting president Yemi Osinbajo has ordered the release of 1.6 billion Naira to 16 states in the country that were badly affected by storm recently. The released fund will be generated from the government’s Ecological Account at the central bank.

This message was conveyed by a senior presidential spokesperson who affirmed that the fund was to repair the damages caused by the storm in those states.

The National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) was put in charge of the fund and ensure it is properly disbursed to the various states.

The affected states include; Abia, Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Kebbi, Kwara, Lagos, Niger, Osun, Oyo, Plateau, and Sokoto.