President Uhuru Kenyatta has gazetted names of women trailblazers he feted with EGH, CBS, and OGW awards.

Ida Odinga – wife of ODM leader Raila Odinga, was among the women celebrated by the President during the August 23 event at State House.

She was honoured with an Elder of the Order of the Golden Heart (EGH) award. Uhuru also feted 29 other women with various honours.

“In recognition of distinguished and outstanding services rendered to the nation in various capacities and responsibilities, I Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta, President of the Republic of Kenya and Commander-in-Chief of the Defence Forces of the Republic of Kenya confer Awards and Honours to the following persons,” the gazette notice reads in part.

The president also celebrated the late Margaret Kenyatta (posthumously) and former Kitui woman representative Nyiva Mwenda with an EGH.

Prominent personalities like Phoebe Asiyo, Grace Onyango (Kenya’s first woman MP), Lady Justice Joyce Oluoch, Wanjiku Kabira, Dr Julia Ojiambo, Beth Mugo, Zipporah Kittony, Dr Jane Kiano were recognised with Chief of the Order of the Burning Spear (CBS.).

The Elder of the Order of the Burning Spear (EBS) was conferred to Eddah Gachukia, Maria Nzomo, Leah Marangu, Lady Justice Effie Owuor, Mary Okello, and Honorine Kiplagat.

The names of Muringo Kierieni, Muthoni Likimani, Jenifer Riria, and Rukia Subow, who were also awarded with an EBS, have been gazetted.

The president has also listed MBS awards (Moran of the Order of the Burning Spear) handed to Evangeline Muli, Wilkister Onsando, Joan Mjomba, and Jael Mbogo.

The Teresah Shitakha, Terry Kantai, Kamla Sikand, Rose Waruhiu were featured in the Order of the Grand Warrior of Kenya (OGW) category.